The Beauty of the Smartphone

I have been talking about getting a Smartphone for the past couple of years.  I don’t text.  I don’t need a phone to check my email.  I just wanted a phone that could check the UPC codes so that I wouldn’t have to call Richie when I go out on my weekly trip to buy DVDs.  We have been selling media on Amazon for the past 8 years.  It started with VHS and CDs that we would buy in quantity every Saturday when we would go to garage sales in New Jersey.  Now that we live in Tucson, we mostly buy DVDs from second hand stores.  I spend each Friday traveling on my regular route and the only way I would know if the DVDs were worth anything was to call Richie who would check the prices on Amazon using the home computer.

This process was very time consuming and often frustrating.  For some reason, Richie could never hear at least one of the numbers when I read him the UPC code.  Or else, the phone would ring at home and I would have to wait for him to get off the phone – most of the calls are business related.  I wanted to get a phone that could scan the bar code and show me the prices, but I always resisted because of the cost.  Was it really worth an extra $30.00 a month for this little luxury?

Well, my daughter needed a new phone and my phone was 2 years old.  So I did it.  I caved in and got a Droid.  Within minutes,  I downloaded a free App from Amazon and Voila!  I can scan bar codes! It’s amazing how fast I can check prices.  If I decide to buy a DVD, I can add it to my “Watch List” on Amazon and instantly Richie can see the list and enter the DVD for sale.  No more phone calls.  No more “can you repeat the last digit”.  Quick and easy.  Always looking for ways to improve our methods of buying and selling on the internet.  What was I waiting for?  Well, better late than never.  I’m in love with my new phone!

Published in: on September 7, 2010 at 7:31 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebayinternetselling.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/the-beauty-of-the-smartphone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

