Hoarders

I know there is currently a television show on Cable TV about hoarders which I personally find hard to watch.  However, in the life of an eBay Trading Assistant, I actually have come across some of these people in real life.  The worst one was an older, very intelligent woman who had a house full of antiques, mixed in with a lot of junk piled up from the floor to the ceiling.  There was literally only a small, single file path from her front door through her living room to the kitchen on which to walk .  I couldn’t believe someone lives like this.  She knew everything she had and where it was, but the hard part was getting to it without being in danger of something falling on your head.  Even her bed was completely covered with things.  There was one place to sit in the house – a small space on the living room sofa.  If the fire department could have seen that house, I’m sure it would have been condemned.

Now, whenever someone apologizes for their messy house, I mentally compare it to that woman’s house.  If I can walk without fear of objects landing in my path, I feel safe.  There are certainly a lot of hidden treasures in these homes, but getting to them can be a challenge.

Working with hoarders presents additional issues.  We have to inspect their items more carefully than those whose owners have lovingly displayed or stored their valuables.  Listing on eBay requires careful attention and disclosure of many details – including any flaws that an object may have.  These homes are usually not going to win the Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval and we often have to clean up many of these pieces which takes additional time and work on our part.  We also have to spend time cleaning our hands and sometimes changing our clothing.

We work hard for all our clients to bring them the highest returns.  In these cases, we often work double time.  No wonder I am writing this blog at 9pm on a Friday night – there is so much to do in this business and the days are way too short.

Published in: on November 2, 2010 at 8:02 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebayinternetselling.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/hoarders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I bet some of these people have a hard time letting go of their treasures even if it means making money. They may also think their things are worth more than they actually are. My hat goes off to you. You really earn your money.
    Saundra

  2. Valuable information. Lucky me I found your site by accident, and I am shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it. deeegfadccdd


Leave a Reply

