eBay Feed Back System – Time to Update Your Rule Book

Remember when you were in grade school (or middle school or high school for that matter).  You could never win an argument against a teacher.  They were “always” right.  Well, now that we are in the grown up world,  if you are seller on eBay, they have replaced the role of the teacher.  They are always right – at least in their minds.  And if you want to go sell somewhere else, they know they have the biggest game in town, so you can take your ball and go elsewhere, but you won’t find many people to play with.

eBay has a policy that allows the seller to send an Unpaid notice if payment is not received after 4 days of the auction ending.  In the past, a seller had to wait 7 days.  The seller even has the option to have automate unpaid notices sent for them.

We recently had a buyer bid up 3 of our auctions and after 4 days of non communication, I wrote him and asked about payment.  I didn’t see a response (I have to say that he did respond to my email, but it went to spam), so I then filed a non payment claim.  At that point, I got a scathing email from this buyer telling me that I was “a joke” and the worst seller he had encountered in 10 years on eBay.  His entire email was very nasty.  I wrote him back that I didn’t get his other email, and that I was sorry.  He then proceeded to give me 3 Neutral feed backs calling me “rude” (perfect Freudian transference example) and even mentioned that I filed an unpaid notice against him, but to his defense it was a Holiday weekend.  We had many other sales that Holiday weekend and amazingly everyone else paid within a day.

I contacted eBay about getting these 3 Neutral feed backs removed as they were really retribution for filing the non payment claim – totally following eBay’s rules.  eBay refused to do anything.  I explained my case in as simple English as possible, but they just didn’t want to hear what I had to say.  They said the feed back did not quality for removal according to their rule book.  I asked to see a copy of their rule book and they told me to read their web site.  I told them that the site was only a synopsis and that I wanted to see the entire policy.  They refused to send me a copy.  How can you know the rules if they are kept hidden?  Are we living in the Soviet Union during the Cold War?

eBay, it is time to value your sellers.  You say that retribution feed back is not allowed.  Get a dictionary.  Listen to you sellers – without them, there is nothing for a buyer to purchase.

Published in: on January 18, 2012 at 12:11 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ebayinternetselling.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/ebay-feed-back-system-time-to-update-your-rule-book/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey there, awesome blog, really helpful and insightful! Wow, that sucks man, can’t believe ebay would be so cruel. Some buyers are just never happy, it’s like they just go out of there way to leave negative feedback.

    Thanks for sharing, keep it up!


Leave a Reply

